Connect with us

North Dakota

Six candidates chosen for the North Dakota Board of Higher Education



Bismarck, North Dakota – Six individuals have been chosen for two unfilled positions on the state Board of Higher Education, according to the announcement made by North Dakota’s superintendent of schools Kirsten Baesler.

Baesler is the head of a committee that chose a set of three candidates for Governor Doug Burgum to take into account while appointing each of the two positions. Each group of three people will have one member chosen by the governor. Both of his nominees will be appointed to the board that governs the state-run schools and institutions in the North Dakota University System for a four-year tenure. Both of them must be approved by the North Dakota Senate.

The following candidates were chosen by the nominating committee to be considered for the position now held by Timothy Mihalick of Minot. Mihalick works as a business development officer and vice chairman of the board for First Western Bank & Trust in Minot.

• Timothy Mihalick, who is eligible to serve a second four-year term, the maximum allowed
• Katrina Christiansen, Jamestown, who is a professor of engineering at the University of Jamestown
• Marya Skaare, Dickinson, who is president of Trinity Catholic Schools.

Also, the committee chose a different trio to be evaluated for the position currently held by Nick Hacker of Bismarck. Hacker’s second and final SBHE term is coming to an end, and he is no longer qualified for an appointment.

• Curtis Biller, Fargo, human resources consultant, Strengths Inc.
• Stanley Schauer, Bismarck, director of assessments, North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
• Mevan Wijetunga, Grand Forks, cardiologist, Altru Health System.

Both Mihalick and Hacker’s contracts expire on June 30. Burgum will schedule his meetings in the upcoming weeks.
The members of the nomination committee are Baesler, State Senator Don Schaible, State Representative Dennis Johnson, Chief Justice Jon Jensen of the Supreme Court, and North Dakota United President Nick Archuleta.