Connect with us


Three UND Hockey Players Have Been Named To The All-CHN Team



The University of North Dakota has found three players on the All-College Hockey News Team. Sophomore forward Shane Pinto and Senior defenseman Matt Kiersted were each named to the first team. Senior forward Jordan Kawaguchi was a second team honoree.

The trio of Fighting Hawks played a pivotal role in leading UND to an overall record of 22-6-1 on the season. UND also became the first team in NCHC history to win the conference regular season and tournament championships in the same season.

Pinto is a Hobey Baker Award finalist this season. He has racked up three other awards including NCHC Player of the Year, Forward of the Year, and Defensive Forward of the Year. Pinto scored 15 goals this year including picking up a dozen multi-points games.

Kiersted blocked 52 shots this season ranking him second in the NCHC and in the top 10 nationally. He ended his career at UND with 77 points that includes 20 goals and 57 assists. Kiersted also had a career faceoff win percentage of .619 to lead the NCHC and place him in the top five in the country.

Kawaguchi has now made his second consecutive All-CHN team. He has led UND in scoring for the third consecutive year making him the first Fighting Hawk to accomplish the feat since Greg Johnson from 1991-93. Kawaguchi has also scored a school-record five overtime goals in his UND career.


The rest of the All-CHN teams are listed below:


All-CHN First Team:

F Cole Caufield, So., Wisconsin

F Shane Pinto, So., North Dakota

F Matt Boldy, So., Boston College

D Matt Kiersted, Sr., North Dakota

D David Farrance, Sr., Boston University

G Jack LaFontaine, Sr., Minnesota


All-CHN Second Team:

F Sampo Ranta, Jr., Minnesota

F Jordan Kawaguchi, Sr., North Dakota

F Odeen Tufto, Sr., Quinnipiac

F Brandon Kruse, Sr., Bowling Green

D Drew Helleson, So., Boston College

D Marc Del Gaizo, Jr., Massachusetts

G Dryden McKay, Jr., Minnesota State


All-CHN Rookie Team:

F Thomas Bordeleau, Michigan

F Matty Beniers, Michigan

F Veeti Miettinen, St. Cloud State

D Owen Power, Michigan

D Jake Livingstone, Minnesota State

G Ludvig Persson, Miami